Skip to content


CARIBE WAVE is the annual tsunami exercise of the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC) of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). This exercise will be conducted on 14 March 2019, and coordinated together with the U.S. National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) and the Caribbean regional emergency management stakeholders (CEPREDENAC [Coordination Centre for the Prevention of Natural Disasters in Central America], CDEMA [Caribbean Disaster Emergency Management Agency], and EMIZA [Etat-Major Interministériel de la Zone de Défense et de Sécurité Antilles]). The purpose of this exercise is to advance tsunami preparedness efforts in the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions.

When is CARIBE WAVE 2019?

The annual Tsunami Regional Exercise, Caribe Wave 2019, will take place on March 14, 2019. Register today to participate in this exercise.

Which scenario will be used for CARIBE WAVE 2019?

Two exercise scenarios have been planned. The first scenario simulates a tsunami generated by a flank collapse of the Kick ‘em Jenny submarine volcano which occurs after a M 6.0 earthquake is detected at the volcano. The second scenario is a tsunami generated by a magnitude 8.5 earthquake located along the Northern Panama Deformed Belt (NPDB).

Why should I participate in this exercise?

High levels of vulnerability and risk to life and livelihoods from tsunamis along the coasts of the Caribbean and Adjacent Regions should provide a strong incentive for countries and local jurisdictions to prepare for a tsunami and participate in this exercise.

What communication systems will be tested in this exercise?

The initial message will be issued at 1400 UTC by the Pacific Tsunami Warning Center (PTWC) throughout all the regular broadcast channels to test communication systems and to start the exercise. Also, the PTWC will issue simulated messages for each of the scenarios to the UNESCO officially designated Tsunami Warning Focal Points (TWFPs) and National Tsunami Warning Centers. Each country and territory will decide if and how messages will be disseminated within its area of responsibility.

Which agencies are participating in CARIBE WAVE 19?

Each one of the 48 countries and territories members of CARIBE EWS will decide the level of participation and coordinate the corresponding activities within their jurisdiction.

The exercise guidelines, other related materials and links for registration are available at

How do I register my participation for CARIBE WAVE 2019?

Click "register" at the top left of this page or head directly to the registration page.:


UNESCO CARIBE EWS Member States and Territories

Antigua and Barbuda* Bahamas
Barbados Belize Brazil**
Colombia Costa Rica Cuba
Dominica Dominican Republic
France (Guadeloupe, Guyane, Martinique, Saint Martin, St. Barthelemy)
Grenada Guatemala Guyana
Haiti Honduras
Jamaica Mexico
Netherlands (Aruba***, Bonaire, Curaçao***, Saba, Sint Eustatius, Sint Maarten***)
Nicaragua Panama
Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines
Suriname Trinidad and Tobago
United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland (Anguilla***, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands***, Cayman Islands***, Montserrat***, Turks and Caicos)
United States (Puerto Rico and U.S. Virgin Islands)
Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of

*not an IOC Member State

**Designations of Tsunami National Contacts and Tsunami Warning Focal Points pending

***UNESCO Associate Member States participating at IOC CARIBE EWS

Observer Member States of UNESCO CARIBE EWS

©2019 SCEC Southern California Earthquake Center @ USC
"" name donated by
PVNET Technology Education Center Step 1: Secure it now! Step 2: Make a plan Step 3: Make disaster kits Step 4: Is your place safe? Step 5: Drop, Cover, and Hold On Step 6: Check it out! Step 7: Communicate and recover!